Oakland Flats | Architect: SDG Architects
Photography by: Jonathan Burkhart
This unique multi-family residential project, located in rural Oklahoma, was funded with a Historic Preservation Tax Credit and Low-Income Housing Tax Credit. The project team restored and repurposed the 1930 schoolhouse to become four 1-bedroom rental flats, plus a community room. The original building was carefully reworked to highlight historic architectural elements while adding modern amenities, such as indoor plumbing and HVAC. The wooden stage, historic stage lighting, and iconic proscenium arch in the center of the building were restored to provide space for small community gatherings. Painstaking care was given to refinishing the beautiful steel windows, historic brick and stonework throughout the building. The refinished windows were fitted with individual thermal-insulated lites for energy efficiency, and new window hardware was custom designed to meet bedroom egress requirements, while still providing security. Chalkboard paint on the entry wall of each unit calls attention to the original schoolhouse chalkboard locations. The final product is one which pays homage to the historic significance of the building while still incorporating the safe, durable, and modern design elements required in affordable housing.
Archer Building Renovation | Architect: Lilly Architects
Photography by: Photitect
The Archer Building is a certified historic rehabilitation within the Brady Historic District, In the Downtown Tulsa Arts District. It was constructed in 4 portions, with the 1st completed in 1925 and the last constructed in 1952. Originally built along the railroad spur, the structure functioned for many years as a warehouse for wholesale distribution. Over time, the building’s use transitioned to long-term paper storage, with infilled openings on its façade and the original redbrick covered with beige paint. This 73,000 square-foot rehabilitation began with a vision of the George Kaiser Family Foundation. The once-blighted warehouse underwent extensive renovations to transform it into a vibrant mixed-use center. Lilly Architects provided design services for each of the building's tenants that is now home to 35 artist studios, 14 studio apartments, and almost one dozen retailers. 3D scanning technology provided the design team with a comprehensive platform to capture existing conditions and leverage the historic fabric of the building. The previously infilled openings were reopened, and glazing reinstalled to reestablish the facades to their previous pattern. Original overhead door locations now serve as recessed tenant entryways. With the beige paint removed, the red brick provides continuity within the district’s context and serves to reconnect the urban fabric of the corridor.
8th Street Church | Architect: ADG, PC
Photography by: Emma Grace Anderson
At 7,500 square feet, the church building at 8th and Lee is small, but was built with care and craftsmanship. The church was originally dedicated in 1907 as Oklahoma City’s First German Methodist Church. It is an important historical site in Oklahoma City as it includes 22 Jacoby stained glass windows donated by Anton Classen—founder of Oklahoma City’s Heritage Hills neighborhood and the city’s first streetcar line—in memory of his mother. The goal for the renovation was to respect the historic heritage of the church while creating a functional and safe home for the new church congregation, a daughter church of Bethany First Nazarene Church. The re-enlivened church has been totally restored with new building systems, restrooms and custom circular steel chandeliers above the 200-seat sanctuary. Downstairs, the space has been reconfigured with childcare rooms, offices, a small kitchen and a large, flexible fellowship hall. Accessibility was improved with the addition of an at-grade entrance on the northeast corner near new parking, and an elevator. Lighting along the corridor linkage is via textured glass lamps discovered above the old drop-in ceiling. A belfry and steeple—exact replicas of the originals—are perfect finishing touches to this Midtown restoration.
Beta Theta Pi House Rehabilitation and Addition |
Architect: GH2 Architects
Photography by: Simon Hurst Photography
The Beta Theta Pi Fraternity House adjacent to the University of Oklahoma Campus, is an iconic limestone landmark. The prominent structure, designed by noted local architect Harold Gimeno in the Italian Renaissance style, was constructed in 1928 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The original house, rehabilitated with meticulous attention to the original architectural style, is carefully integrated with a new four-level addition that doubles the size of the facility. The stunning new addition includes a 70-person study hall, alumni center, dining room and kitchen, as well as a variety of new resident rooms.
Hotel Breakers | Architect: GSB, Inc.
Photography by: Vintage Photo and Scott Pease
The Hotel Breakers is the original Cedar Point hotel. Opened more than 100 years ago, the Breakers is situated right on the Cedar Point beach, and a two-minute walk from Cedar Point Amusement Park. GSB, Inc. led the design team with the $56,000,000 renovation and additions that brings the entire resort up to modern day hotel standards while respecting and bringing to fruition the original design intent inspired by chateaus in France’s Loire Valley. The 511 key hotel includes multiple restaurants, meeting space, fitness center, concierge lounge, and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The most noticeable improvements are the new arrival and porte cochere, a renovated Main Lobby and Rotunda that features a Starbucks, the lobby lounge, and new premium guestrooms.
Hominy Indian Village Round House |
Architect: TODD Architecture Group
Photography by: Whit Todd
The Hominy Round House was built in 1919 and is the last surviving Round House in Osage County. The Hominy Village is a part of the Osage Nation and is located in the Hominy Indian Village Town Center. The Round House was originally used as a venue for native Osage dances until the late 1930’s - when the dances were moved outdoors. Over the years, the structure experienced a major structural failure along with severe moisture and insect damage. Unfortunately, a high percentage of the Round House materials were too damaged and the cost to preserve the entire structure was too great to simply repair. TODD Architecture Group explored options to either repair the existing roundhouse or replace it. The village decided to rebuild the roundhouse using the salvaged materials and rebuild as close to the original design as possible. Even the dirt floor within the existing Round House, where the early Hominy residents had originally danced, was removed, stockpiled, protected, and relocated to be the new floor of the newly constructed Round House. TODD Architecture Group provided full architectural services to rebuild the roundhouse and oversee its construction – to once again provide a venue for tribal functions and events.